The Outstanding Service Award was created in 1995 to recognize, annually, a Network member who has contributed in a significant way to the ongoing success of the Network. In 2021, the EOSDN Board of Directors officially re-named the Award to the Eleanor Newman Award for Outstanding Service to honour the significant contributions Ms. Newman made to the Network in various roles, spanning many decades and benefitting educators and students in the region.

2024 Eleanor Newman Award for Outstanding Service Recipient Named by EOSDN Board of Directors -
Read More

Past Recipients

  • 1995: John Graham, Superintendent, Leeds and Grenville County Board of Education
  • 1996: Brian Gilmour, Principal, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Public School Board
  • 1997: Dona Cruickshank, Coordinator, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Public School Board
  • 1998: Julie Clarke, Assistant to the Project Director, Eastern Ontario Staff Development Network
  • 1999: Reg Shadbolt, Project Director, Eastern Ontario Staff Development Network
  • 2000: Marc Schaefer, Superintendent, Upper Canada District School Board
  • 2001: Russ Holmberg, Superintendent, Renfrew County District School Board and Greg McNally, Director of Education, Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario
  • 2002: Eleanor Newman, Superintendent, Upper Canada District School Board
  • 2003: Faculty of Education, Queen's University, Kingston
  • 2004: Barbara Day Wills, Superintendent of Education (Ret), Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic DSB
  • 2005: David Fox, Superintendent of Education, HPEDSB, and Margaret Fancy, Principal, CDSBEO
  • 2006: Michele Babcock, Limestone DSB
  • 2007: Patti Greer, Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic DSB
  • 2008: Deborah Robinson, Ottawa Catholic Schools
  • 2009: Lauren Wilson, Renfrew District School Board
  • 2010: The late Barry O’Connor, former Director of Education for Limestone DSB and Lorne Keon, former Director of Education for Renfrew County Catholic DSB
  • 2011: Deborah Pennell, SOQP Registrar & Manager, Events and Administration, EOSDN
  • 2012: Dona Cruickshank, Past Executive Director, EOSDN and Hélène Coulombe, Student Success Coordinator, Ottawa Catholic School Board
  • 2013: Sharon McNamara-Trevisan, Curriculum Coordinator, Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic DSB 
  • 2014: Mary-Anne Cowan, Principal, Ottawa-Catholic School Board
  • 2015: France Dupuis, FSL Curruciulum Consultant, Catholic DSB of Eastern Ontario
  • 2016: Gayle Bishop, Superintendent of Education, Renfrew County DSB
  • 2017: Lynn Denault, Renfrew County Catholic DSB
  • 2018: Barbara Fraser-Stiff, Superintendent of Education (ret.d) Limestone DSB
  • 2019: Edith Bovey, Curriculum Coordinator, Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic DSB
  • 2020: Susan McWilliams, Manager, HR, Limestone DSB
  • 2021: Stephen Sliwa, Director of Education, (ret.'d) Upper Canada DSB
  • 2022: Natalie Cameron, Superintendent of Education, Catholic DSB of Eastern Ontario AND Steve McCabe, Superintendent of Education, Ottawa Catholic SB
  • 2023: Scott Nichol, School Effectiveness Principal and Valleycrest Principal, Renfrew County Catholic District School Board
  • 2024:DrPino Buffone, Director of Education and Secretary of the Board, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board